CHECKED ON OFFICIAL PAGES · OCTOBER 31, 2026

Utility help programs, state by state.

195 programs in 34 states. On October 31, 2026 we checked each program's own official page. That check means the page loads, names the program and says how to apply. We did not check eligibility, amounts or deadlines, so confirm them on the official page before you apply. You send any form yourself; Wattaroo sends nothing. Each program decides who is eligible. Wattaroo is not affiliated with these programs or utilities.

Join the beta Open Wattaroo (invited testers)

Arizona (8)

Help paying a bill

hardship fund

Customer Assistance Residential Energy Support (CARES) (UniSource Energy Services)

UniSource Energy Services

Who it is for: Current residential customers, account in own name, primary resident; electric up to 200% and gas up to 150% of federal poverty level.

When: CARES participants are required to reapply every year.

  • Call 877-837-4968
  • By mail: Download the electric or gas Customer Assistance form (PDF) and submit it to UniSource following the instructions on the form.
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

hardship fund

Energy Share (Southwest Gas Corporation)

Southwest Gas Corporation

Who it is for: Eligibility is not income-tested to federal poverty guidelines; the local agency decides.

  • In person or local agency: Contact your local energy share agency (Find Your Local Agency on page)
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

hardship fund

Home Energy Assistance Fund (HEAF)

Wildfire

Who it is for: Low-income Arizona households needing help with heating, cooling or appliance repair costs; eligibility screening is through Arizona Self Help.

  • In person or local agency: Find a local office to apply from the county list on the page (community action agencies and partners)
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Lower rate

utility discount rate

APS Energy Support Program

Arizona Public Service

Who it is for: Meet all program income guidelines (effective July 1, 2026) and provide proof of income for all adults in the household.

When: Guidelines effective July 1, 2026.

  • By mail: Download and print the application, then mail it (steps on the page)
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

Low Income Ratepayer Assistance (LIRA) Program (Southwest Gas)

Southwest Gas

Who it is for: Household income within the LIRA guidelines (up to 250% of federal poverty level); Southwest Gas bill in your name, or master-meter tenant.

When: Annual household income guidelines effective 07/01/26 through 06/30/27.

  • Apply online ↗
  • Call 877-860-6020
  • By mail: Master-meter tenants: print the LIRA Application Master-Meter Tenant form from the portal and mail it in. Mail address not read.
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

TEP Lifeline discount

Tucson Electric Power

Who it is for: Current residential customers, account in own name, primary resident, household income at or below 200% of federal poverty guidelines (table on page).

When: Lifeline program participants are required to reapply every year.

  • Apply online ↗
  • Call 520-623-7711
  • By mail: Download the Lifeline program application form (PDF: https://docs.tep.com/wp-content/uploads/TEP-UES-Customer-Assistance-form.pdf) and submit it to TEP following the form's instructions.
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Home repairs and insulation

weatherization

Low-Income Energy Efficiency (Southwest Gas)

Southwest Gas

Who it is for: Income-qualified Arizona customers who own or rent their home; energy-saving measures at no cost.

  • Apply online ↗
  • In person or local agency: Sign up through the local agency for your area; the Weatherization page lists agency contact information.
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

weatherization

Tucson Electric Power low-income energy efficiency

Tucson Electric Power

Who it is for: Household gross income over the past 12 months must not exceed the table amounts (200 percent of federal poverty level, effective Jan. 15, 2026).

  • In person or local agency: Contact All Thrive 365 or Pima County (per page)
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Back to the state list ↑

Arkansas (1)

Lower rate

utility discount rate

Black Hills Cares (Black Hills Energy Arkansas)

Black Hills Energy Arkansas

Who it is for: Black Hills Cares helps eligible customers in need pay their Black Hills Energy bills or emergency energy-related expenses.

  • Apply online ↗
  • In person or local agency: Arkansas partner agency: United Way of Northwest Arkansas (the page lists partner agencies by state)
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Back to the state list ↑

California (39)

Help paying a bill

hardship fund

Burbank Utility Service Subsidy (Buss) Program ($90-180)

$90-180

Who it is for: Income-qualified Burbank residents; income limits match the Burbank PASS program.

Funding: open

  • Apply online ↗
  • Email questions to info@homeagainla.org
  • By mail: Home Again L.A. (HALA), Attn: BUSS Program Application, 1304 West Burbank Blvd., Burbank CA 91506
  • In person or local agency: Home Again L.A. (HALA), 1304 West Burbank Blvd., Burbank, CA 91506
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

hardship fund

Project A.P.P.L.E (Pasadena Water and Power)

Pasadena Water and Power

Who it is for: Eligible low-income residential PWP electric customers; page gives income detail on its own pages.

  • Call 626-744-4005
  • In person or local agency: Apply in person at the Municipal Services Pay Center, located in Pasadena City Hall
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Lower rate

utility discount rate

California Alternate Rates for Energy (CARE) - Liberty Utilities

Liberty Utilities

Who it is for: Enrolled in a public assistance program, or household income under the program limit; proof of income needed for the income route.

  • Call 800-782-2506
  • By mail: Attn: CARE Program, Liberty CalPeco, 933 Eloise Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

California Alternate Rates for Energy (CARE) - SDG&E

SDG&E

Who it is for: Public assistance enrollment or income guidelines; FERA is checked if CARE does not apply.

  • Call 877-646-5525
  • By mail: Download the application and mail it (per page; address not captured)
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

Electric wheelchair (Sacramento Municipal Utility District)

Sacramento Municipal Utility District

Who it is for: Household with an in-home dialysis cycler, electric wheelchair, oxygen concentrator or ventilator, or extraordinary heating or cooling need tied to a medical condition.

  • Call 888-742-7683
  • By mail: Download and print the MED Rate application; sections 1-3 signed by you, section 4 by a qualified health professional; mail it (address on form).
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

Lifeline - Utility Users Tax Exemption for Seniors and Individuals with Disabilities

Los Angeles Office of Finance (City of Los Angeles)

Who it is for: Age 62 or older, or disabled; City of Los Angeles residential utility user; household adjusted gross income less than $66,650 for the prior calendar year.

  • Email your application to finance.lifelineprogram@lacity.org
  • Fax 213-978-1548
  • By mail: Office of Finance, Utility Tax Exemption Unit, P.O. Box 53233, Los Angeles, CA 90053-0233
  • In person or local agency: City Hall, Room 152, by appointment only; closed Fridays
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

Lifeline Program (Burbank Water and Power)

Burbank Water and Power

Who it is for: Income-qualified customers; see application materials

Funding: open

  • Apply online ↗
  • By mail: First-time: Home Again L.A. (HALA), Attn: Lifeline Application, 1304 West Burbank Blvd., Burbank CA 91506. Renewals: Burbank Water and Power, Attn: Lifeline Application, 164 W. Magnolia Blvd., Burbank CA 91502
  • In person or local agency: First-time: HALA, 1304 West Burbank Blvd., Burbank, CA 91506. Renewals: BWP office, 164 W. Magnolia Blvd., Burbank, CA 91502
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

Paraplegic, Quadriplegic and Multiple Sclerosis Discount (Los Angeles Dept of Water & Power)

Los Angeles Dept of Water & Power

Who it is for: A full-time household member is a paraplegic, hemiplegic, quadriplegic, multiple sclerosis, neuromuscular or scleroderma patient, verified by a state-licensed physician.

  • By mail: Los Angeles Department of Water and Power, Account Services Unit, PO Box 515407, Los Angeles, CA 90051-6707
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

Sacramento Municipal Utility District low-income rate assistance

Sacramento Municipal Utility District

Who it is for: Income-eligible customers; check with the tool on the page.

  • Apply online ↗
  • By mail: Download the mail-in EAPR application linked on the page (mailing address not stated)
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Home repairs and insulation

weatherization

Low-Income Energy Efficiency (LIEE) (Pacific Power)

Pacific Power

Who it is for: Income-qualifying homeowners and renters in single-family homes, mobile homes, or apartments.

  • In person or local agency: To apply, call the agency for your area (county list on the page; for example Del Norte Senior Center, 707-464-9013)
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Past-due balance

Medical or shutoff protection

medical/shutoff protection

Life Support Device Discount (Los Angeles Dept of Water & Power)

Los Angeles Dept of Water & Power

Who it is for: Household uses an essential life-support device; physician completes the reverse side; LADWP medical director reviews.

  • By mail: Los Angeles Department of Water and Power, PO Box 515407, Room L63, Los Angeles, CA 90051-6707
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

medical/shutoff protection

Medical Allowance (San Diego Gas and Electric)

San Diego Gas and Electric

Who it is for: Anyone using a qualifying medical device, or needing space heating or cooling for a medical condition; doctor certification required; income not a factor.

  • Call 800-560-5551
  • By mail: New Application (mail or email), with signed medical practitioner form
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

medical/shutoff protection

Medical Assistance Program (Pasadena Water and Power)

Pasadena Water and Power

Who it is for: Residential electric customers with qualifying electric-powered medical equipment.

  • In person or local agency: In person at PWP community centers, by appointment only
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

medical/shutoff protection

Medical Baseline Allowance (Liberty Utilities)

Liberty Utilities

Who it is for: Customer with a medical need; a medical professional's signature is required.

  • By mail: Download Medical Baseline Allowance Application (paper form)
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Back to the state list ↑

Colorado (3)

Help paying a bill

hardship fund

Bill Payment Assistance Program

Energy Outreach Colorado

Who it is for: Disconnected, past-due heating or electric bill, or low on fuel; income must meet program limits (figures not stated).

When: program year (10/1-9/30)

Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Home repairs and insulation

weatherization

Energy Resource Center

Energy Resource Center

Who it is for: Free home energy efficiency upgrades for income-qualified households; qualification criteria are behind a 'Click Here' link and not stated on this page.

  • Call 719-591-0772
  • In person or local agency: Call the regional office that serves your county (five regional offices listed)
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Back to the state list ↑

Connecticut (6)

Help paying a bill

state-funded

Winter Protection Program (Eversource)

Eversource

Who it is for: Income levels fall below 60 percent of the state median income, or a listed public benefit (for example SSI, TANF, Medicaid).

When: Winter Protection protects service from November 1 through May 1; renewed annually

  • Call 800-286-2828
  • Fax 866-438-6476
  • By mail: Eversource, Attn: Credit Dept., P.O. Box 270, Hartford, CT 06141 (for documents)
  • In person or local agency: Local Community Action Agency (CEAP application)
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Lower rate

utility discount rate

Low Income Discount Rate - Eversource (CL&P)

Eversource (CL&P)

Who it is for: Eligible income-qualified customers; auto-enrolment at 10% level, higher discount on contacting the utility.

When: no window stated

  • In person or local agency: contact your utility to qualify for a higher discount
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

Low Income Discount Rate - United Illuminating

United Illuminating

Who it is for: Eligible income-qualified customers; auto-enrolment at 10% level, higher discount on contacting the utility.

When: no window stated

  • In person or local agency: contact your utility to qualify for a higher discount
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Home repairs and insulation

Past-due balance

arrearage management

Matching Payment Program - UI/CNG/SCG (Avangrid)

UI/CNG/SCG (Avangrid)

Who it is for: Hardship-designated electric and gas customers with past-due balances.

When: Starting November 1, 2024, the new Matching Payment Program (MPP) will be the vehicle for arrearage forgiveness program enrollment moving forward.

  • In person or local agency: Contact your utility to enroll in the programs described above.
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Back to the state list ↑

Florida (2)

Help paying a bill

hardship fund

Project Share (City of Tallahassee)

City of Tallahassee

Who it is for: City of Tallahassee Utilities customers who pass a screening and meet one or more listed criteria (disabled, elderly and others, per page).

  • Call 850-222-2043
  • In person or local agency: Candidate screenings Mon-Fri 8-10 a.m. at 309 Office Plaza Drive, Tallahassee, FL 32301
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

hardship fund

SHARE (Tampa Electric)

Tampa Electric

Who it is for: Share is designed to connect eligible Tampa Electric customers with energy bill assistance through trusted nonprofit organizations.

  • Apply online ↗
  • In person or local agency: To apply, contact one of the community partners listed on the Apply for Share page: Metropolitan Ministries, The Salvation Army Tampa Area Command, Catholic Charities Diocese of St. Petersburg
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Back to the state list ↑

Georgia (3)

Help paying a bill

hardship fund

HEAT (Heating Energy Assistance Team)

HEAT, Inc.

Who it is for: Income-eligible gas customers on the Atlanta Gas Light pipeline (per the page); check eligibility via Step 1 on the page.

When: HEAT’s fund distribution begins in November for senior citizens (age 65 and older) and the medically homebound, and opens to the general public during December.

  • Call 678-406-0212
  • In person or local agency: Look up your Community Action Agency (Step 2 on the page)
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

hardship fund

Project SHARE

The Salvation Army

Who it is for: Financial Emergency Assistance for individuals and families facing a temporary crisis that threatens their home; level of help based on need and available funds.

  • In person or local agency: Make an appointment at the SHARE Partner Agency in your county of residence
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Lower rate

Back to the state list ↑

Idaho (5)

Help paying a bill

hardship fund

Idaho Power Company customer assistance fund

Idaho Power Company

Who it is for: Eligibility is checked by the local Salvation Army or CAP office.

  • In person or local agency: Local Salvation Army or CAP Agency office (county list on the page)
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Home repairs and insulation

weatherization

Ada, Elmore, and Owyhee counties, call 208-322-1242 (Idaho Power)

Idaho Power

Who it is for: Income-qualified customers; eligibility checked by the local agency.

  • Call 208-322-1242
  • In person or local agency: Local Salvation Army or CAP agency by county. Ada: Salvation Army (Boise), 208-433-4424. Elmore and Owyhee: El Ada Community Action, 208-322-1242
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

weatherization

Bingham, Power, Oneida, and Bannock counties, call 208-233-7348 (Idaho Power)

Idaho Power

Who it is for: Income-qualified customers; eligibility checked by the local agency.

  • In person or local agency: Local Salvation Army or CAP agency by county. Bannock: Salvation Army (Pocatello), 208-232-5318. Bingham: SEICCA (Blackfoot), 208-785-1583. Power: SEICCA (American Falls), 208-226-7330
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

weatherization

Idaho Power low-income energy efficiency

Idaho Power

  • In person or local agency: Local CAP agency by county (page list). Elmore, Ada, Owyhee: El Ada Community Action, 208-322-1242. Lemhi: Eastern Idaho CAP, 208-522-5391. Canyon, Gem, Payette, Boise, Washington, Valley, Adams: Metro Community Services, 208-459-0065
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Back to the state list ↑

Illinois (4)

Help paying a bill

hardship fund

WORKS (Wayne-White Counties Electric Cooperative)

Wayne-White Counties Electric Cooperative

Who it is for: Individuals and families living within the cooperative's geographic area; grants meet a critical need not met by other means.

  • Apply online ↗
  • Call 618-842-2196
  • In person or local agency: Grant applications are available from any WORKS board member or the cooperative office; completed applications are returned to the cooperative.
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Lower rate

utility discount rate

Low-Income Discount Rate - Ameren Illinois (electric)

Ameren Illinois (electric)

Who it is for: Ameren Illinois electric customers with incomes up to 300% of the federal poverty level, per the ICC page.

When: Starting June 2026, Ameren Illinois customers with incomes up to 300 percent of the FPL can access a new discounted affordability program.

Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

Low-Income Discount Rate - Ameren Illinois (gas)

Ameren Illinois (gas)

Who it is for: Ameren Illinois gas customers at or below 300% of the federal poverty level; five discount tiers by household size and income.

  • Apply online ↗
  • Call 800-755-5000
  • In person or local agency: Customers already on LIHEAP should apply annually through their local community action agency (per ICC page).
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

Low-Income Discount Rate - ComEd

ComEd

Who it is for: Eligible customers at or below 300 percent of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL) can receive a 5-80 percent monthly discount on their electric bills.

When: Beginning in February 2026, ComEd will offer sliding scale discount rates.

Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Back to the state list ↑

Indiana (1)

Lower rate

Back to the state list ↑

Iowa (2)

Help paying a bill

hardship fund

Black Hills Cares (Black Hills Energy)

Black Hills Energy

  • In person or local agency: Contact the Iowa partner agency listed for your community (Mid-Iowa Community Action etc.)
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

hardship fund

Hometown Care Energy Fund (Alliant Energy)

Alliant Energy

Who it is for: Eligibility not stated on the page checked beyond income-qualified customers.

  • In person or local agency: Iowa residents: contact your local Community Action Agency
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Back to the state list ↑

Kentucky (3)

Help paying a bill

hardship fund

Sharing the Warmth (Atmos Energy)

Atmos Energy

Who it is for: Eligible residential customers; eligibility for Sharing the Warmth funds is determined by the local agency.

When: first-come, first-served basis

  • In person or local agency: local energy assistance agency; locate one on the page or call 211
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Home repairs and insulation

Back to the state list ↑

Louisiana (1)

Help paying a bill

community solar

Entergy LA and Entergy New Orleans

Entergy

Who it is for: Louisiana customers aged 60 or older, or with disabilities, who meet 150% to 200% of the federal poverty level.

  • Apply online ↗
  • In person or local agency: The Power to Care: contact the local nonprofit agency partner for your area, listed with phone numbers on the Entergy Louisiana agencies page.
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Back to the state list ↑

Maine (2)

Lower rate

utility discount rate

Low Income Assistance Program (LIAP) - Versant Power

Versant Power / MPUC

Who it is for: Based on LIHEAP or a DHHS means-tested program; household income at or below 150% of Federal Poverty Guidelines.

  • In person or local agency: Community Action Agency (list at mainehousing.org liheap-agency-contacts), or contact your utility
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Past-due balance

arrearage management

Arrearage Management Program - Versant Power

Versant Power

Who it is for: Low-income residential customers behind on electricity bills who are eligible for HEAP or LIAP.

When: no window stated on the page

  • Call 207-973-2000
  • Email questions to AMP@versantpower.com
  • By mail: Versant Power, paper application (address on page)
  • In person or local agency: local Community Action Agencies listed on page
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Back to the state list ↑

Maryland (4)

Help paying a bill

hardship fund

HeatShare Fuel Fund

Dollar Energy Fund

Who it is for: Total gross household income at or below 200% of the Federal Poverty Income Guidelines; residential single home or apartment account.

When: Opens 2026-10-01 · closes 2027-09-30

Funding: open

  • Apply online ↗
  • Call 888-282-6816
  • In person or local agency: Find an agency in your area with Dollar Energy Fund's Agency Finder (hardshiptools.org/AgencyFinder.aspx, linked from the program page)
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Lower rate

utility discount rate

Universal Service Protection Program (USPP) (Allegheny Power)

Allegheny Power

Who it is for: MEAP-eligible customers may participate in USPP; USPP also requires participation in the Average Payment Plan.

When: Applications are taken year-round for all programs; however, USPP is applicable November 1 through March 31.

  • Call 410-767-8150
  • In person or local agency: 'Apply Now' link on the page (URL not captured)
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

Universal Service Protection Program (USPP) (Southern Maryland Electric Coop)

Southern Maryland Electric Coop

Who it is for: Customers whose incomes are at or below 150% of the poverty level.

  • Call 301-274-4474
  • In person or local agency: Southern Maryland Tri-County Community Action Committee; leave a message
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Back to the state list ↑

Massachusetts (8)

Help paying a bill

hardship fund

Massachusetts Good Neighbor Energy Fund

The Salvation Army

Who it is for: MA residents in temporary financial difficulty who cannot meet an energy bill and do not qualify for state or federal help; income 60-80% of state median.

When: The Fund is currently open for the 2026-2027 season to all eligible households.

Funding: open

  • In person or local agency: Local Salvation Army Corps Community Center or Service Extension Unit (addresses and phone numbers listed on the page)
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Lower rate

utility discount rate

Income-eligible tiered discount rate - Berkshire Gas

Berkshire Gas

Who it is for: Income-eligible electric or gas customers, or public-benefit recipients.

When: Starting November 1, 2026, the amount of your discount may change; rates pending DPU tariff approval.

  • In person or local agency: contact your local Community Action Agency (CAA) or the gas or electric company
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

Income-eligible tiered discount rate - Eversource

Eversource

Who it is for: To qualify, receive a public assistance benefit or meet household income requirements (at or below 60% of state median income).

When: Discounts as of Nov. 1, 2026.

  • Apply online ↗
  • In person or local agency: Local Community Action Agency; find at masscap.org/agencies or call 211
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

Income-eligible tiered discount rate - Liberty Utilities

Liberty Utilities

Who it is for: Income-eligible electric or gas customers, or public-benefit recipients.

When: Starting November 1, 2026, the amount of your discount may change; rates pending DPU tariff approval.

  • In person or local agency: contact your local Community Action Agency (CAA) or the gas or electric company
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

Income-eligible tiered discount rate - National Grid

National Grid

Who it is for: Income-eligible electric or gas customer; discount depends on household income, household size, company and rate class.

When: Starting November 1, 2026, the amount of your discount will depend on

  • In person or local agency: Local Community Action Agency (list at masscap.org/agencies, linked from mass.gov)
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

Income-eligible tiered discount rate - Unitil

Unitil

Who it is for: Income-eligible electric or gas customers, or public-benefit recipients.

When: Starting November 1, 2026, the amount of your discount may change; rates pending DPU tariff approval.

  • In person or local agency: contact your local Community Action Agency (CAA) or the gas or electric company
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Past-due balance

Back to the state list ↑

Michigan (3)

Lower rate

utility discount rate

Care (Consumers Energy)

Consumers Energy

Who it is for: Income-qualified customers (page lists the household criteria).

  • In person or local agency: Contact an agency to enroll in CARE; find an agency on the page
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

Residential Income Assistance Credit (Detroit Edison)

Detroit Edison

Who it is for: Income-qualified DTE account holder; documents of income and ID for each adult in the household are required.

  • By mail: Submit documents through DTE's Document Submission Portal (per page)
  • In person or local agency: Contact one of DTE's community partners for help with the application (per page)
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Home repairs and insulation

weatherization

Energy Efficiency Assistance Program (Detroit Edison)

Detroit Edison

Who it is for: Household income at or below 250% of federal poverty guidelines, or active enrollment in a qualifying state assistance program.

  • Apply online ↗
  • Call 866-796-0512
  • In person or local agency: Confirm household income eligibility, then contact a participating organization serving your county (list on the DTE page).
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Back to the state list ↑

Minnesota (2)

Help paying a bill

hardship fund

Customer Affordability of Residential Electricity (CARE) (Minnesota Power)

Minnesota Power

  • In person or local agency: Find your local energy assistance provider (link on page) for LIHEAP
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Lower rate

Back to the state list ↑

Missouri (3)

Help paying a bill

hardship fund

Dollar-Help, Inc. (DHI) (Spire Inc, (Formerly Laclede Gas Company))

Spire Inc, (Formerly Laclede Gas Company)

  • In person or local agency: Find your local community action agency by calling 2-1-1.
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Lower rate

utility discount rate

IRAP

Community Services League (CSL)

Who it is for: Income cannot exceed 150% of the Federal Poverty Level; customer must be over 62 or disabled; re-certified annually.

  • Call 816-254-4100
  • In person or local agency: Community Services League, 404 N. Noland Road, Independence, MO 64050
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Back to the state list ↑

Nebraska (1)

Lower rate

utility discount rate

Black Hills Cares (Black Hills Energy)

Black Hills Energy

  • In person or local agency: Nebraska: The Salvation Army FBO Heatshare, Omaha, listed with website centralusa.salvationarmy.org and no phone. Contact the listed agency for your community.
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Back to the state list ↑

Nevada (1)

Help paying a bill

Back to the state list ↑

New Hampshire (11)

Lower rate

utility discount rate

Belknap & Merrimack 603-225-3295 (Unitil)

Unitil

Who it is for: Renter or homeowner billed by a participating utility (Eversource, Liberty, NH Electric Co-op or Unitil), with income that qualifies at the time of applying.

When: no application window stated; benefits subject to availability of funds

  • In person or local agency: Community Action Program Belknap-Merrimack Counties (capbm.org), Belknap and Merrimack residents: Concord 225-6880, Franklin 934-7369, Laconia 524-5512, Meredith 279-4096, Suncook 485-7824, Warner 456-2207
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

Cheshire & Sullivan 603-352-7512 or 1-800-529-0005 (Eversource)

Eversource

Who it is for: Renter or homeowner billed by a participating utility (Eversource, Liberty, NH Electric Co-op or Unitil), with income that qualifies at the time of applying.

When: no application window stated; benefits subject to availability of funds

  • Call 800-529-0005
  • In person or local agency: Southwestern Community Services, Inc. (scshelps.org), Cheshire and Sullivan counties: Claremont 542-9528; Keene 352-7512 or 1-800-529-0005
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

Cheshire & Sullivan 603-352-7512 or 1-800-529-0005 (Unitil)

Unitil

Who it is for: Renter or homeowner billed by a participating utility (Eversource, Liberty, NH Electric Co-op or Unitil), with income that qualifies at the time of applying.

When: no application window stated; benefits subject to availability of funds

  • In person or local agency: Southwestern Community Services (scshelps.org), Cheshire and Sullivan residents: Claremont 542-9528; Keene 352-7512 or 1-800-529-0005
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

Coos, Carroll & Grafton 603-752-7105 or 1-888-842-3835 (Unitil)

Unitil

Who it is for: Renter or homeowner billed by a participating utility (Eversource, Liberty, NH Electric Co-op or Unitil), with income that qualifies at the time of applying.

When: no application window stated; benefits subject to availability of funds

  • In person or local agency: Tri-County Community Action (tccap.org), Coos, Carroll and Grafton residents: Carroll 323-7400; Coos 752-3248; Grafton 968-3560
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

Hillsborough and Rockingham 603-668-8010 or 1-800-322-1073 (Unitil)

Unitil

Who it is for: Renter or homeowner billed by a participating utility (Eversource, Liberty, NH Electric Co-op or Unitil), with income that qualifies at the time of applying.

When: no application window stated; benefits subject to availability of funds

  • In person or local agency: Community Action Partnership Hillsborough and Rockingham Counties (caphr.org), town-by-town numbers in the brochure (e.g. Manchester 647-4470, 1-800-322-1073)
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

Strafford 603-435-2500 (Unitil)

Unitil

Who it is for: Renter or homeowner billed by a participating utility (Eversource, Liberty, NH Electric Co-op or Unitil), with income that qualifies at the time of applying.

When: no application window stated; benefits subject to availability of funds

  • In person or local agency: Community Action Partnership of Strafford County (straffordcap.org): Rochester 435-2500; Dover 435-2500
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Home repairs and insulation

weatherization

Eversource low-income energy efficiency

Eversource

Who it is for: 1-to-4 family home and meets income eligibility requirements; customers on fuel assistance, electric assistance or subsidized housing are eligible (page).

  • In person or local agency: county Community Action Agency (per page)
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Back to the state list ↑

New Jersey (2)

Help paying a bill

hardship fund

SHARES Assistance Programs: Energy

SHARES NATION INC

Who it is for: Grants for gas and/or electric service for qualified households in temporary financial crisis; income limits not stated on the loaded page.

Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Home repairs and insulation

Back to the state list ↑

New York (21)

Help paying a bill

hardship fund

Neighbor for Neighbor Heat (National Fuel Gas)

National Fuel Gas

Who it is for: Age 55 or older, household disability, certified medical emergency, veteran, or unemployment benefits; lives in National Fuel service territory.

When: The Neighbor for Neighbor Heat Fund is now open and accepting applications.

Funding: open

  • Call 716-888-6230
  • In person or local agency: Appointment through The Salvation Army, Catholic Charities or the Chautauqua County Office for the Aging; no walk-ins
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Lower rate

utility discount rate

Energy Affordability Program (EAP) - Central Hudson

Central Hudson

Who it is for: Households below state median income (area median for Con Edison, National Grid NYC and Long Island), or enrolled in a listed public assistance program.

When: no window or deadline stated for Energy Affordability Program (EAP)

Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

Energy Affordability Program (EAP) - Con Edison

Con Edison

Who it is for: Households below state median income (area median for Con Edison, National Grid NYC and Long Island), or enrolled in a listed public assistance program.

When: no window or deadline stated for Energy Affordability Program (EAP)

  • Apply online ↗
  • Email questions to EAP@conEd.com
  • Fax 212-844-0110
  • By mail: Con Edison EAP, P.O. Box 138, Cooper Station, New York, NY 10276-0138
  • In person or local agency: Con Edison walk-in center
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

Energy Affordability Program (EAP) - KEDLI (National Grid)

KEDLI (National Grid)

Who it is for: Households below state median income (area median for Con Edison, National Grid NYC and Long Island), or enrolled in a listed public assistance program.

When: no window or deadline stated for Energy Affordability Program (EAP)

Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

Energy Affordability Program (EAP) - KEDNY (National Grid)

KEDNY (National Grid)

Who it is for: Households below state median income (area median for Con Edison, National Grid NYC and Long Island), or enrolled in a listed public assistance program.

When: no window or deadline stated for Energy Affordability Program (EAP)

Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

Energy Affordability Program (EAP) - NYSEG

NYSEG

Who it is for: Households below state median income (area median for Con Edison, National Grid NYC and Long Island), or enrolled in a listed public assistance program.

When: no window or deadline stated for Energy Affordability Program (EAP)

Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

Energy Affordability Program (EAP) - National Fuel Gas

National Fuel Gas

Who it is for: Income below state median income (area median for Con Edison and National Grid NYC/LI), or public-assistance enrollment.

When: no window or deadline stated for Energy Affordability Program (EAP)

  • Fax 716-857-7061
  • By mail: ATTN: Special Assistance, National Fuel, 6363 Main St., Williamsville, NY 14221
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

Energy Affordability Program (EAP) - Niagara Mohawk (National Grid)

Niagara Mohawk (National Grid)

Who it is for: Households below state median income (area median for Con Edison, National Grid NYC and Long Island), or enrolled in a listed public assistance program.

When: no window or deadline stated for Energy Affordability Program (EAP)

Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

Energy Affordability Program (EAP) - Orange & Rockland

Orange & Rockland

Who it is for: Households below state median income (area median for Con Edison, National Grid NYC and Long Island), or enrolled in a listed public assistance program.

When: no window or deadline stated for Energy Affordability Program (EAP)

Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

Energy Affordability Program (EAP) - RG&E

RG&E

Who it is for: Income below state median income (area median for Con Edison and National Grid NYC/LI), or public-assistance enrollment.

When: no window or deadline stated for Energy Affordability Program (EAP)

Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

Enhanced Energy Affordability Program (EEAP) - Con Edison

Con Edison

Who it is for: Income below the EEAP maximum for household size and location; households without a qualifying public assistance benefit.

When: no window or deadline stated for Energy Affordability Program (EAP)

  • Apply online ↗
  • Call 877-400-2501
  • Fax 517-580-5123
  • By mail: CLEAResult – NY EEAP, 16350 Felton Rd., Lansing, MI 48906
  • In person or local agency: Con Edison walk-in center (EAP route on the Con Edison page)
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

Enhanced Energy Affordability Program (EEAP) - KEDLI (National Grid)

KEDLI (National Grid)

Who it is for: Income below the EEAP maximum for household size and location; households without a qualifying public assistance benefit.

When: no window or deadline stated for Energy Affordability Program (EAP)

Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

Enhanced Energy Affordability Program (EEAP) - KEDNY (National Grid)

KEDNY (National Grid)

Who it is for: Income below the EEAP maximum for household size and location; households without a qualifying public assistance benefit.

When: no window or deadline stated for Energy Affordability Program (EAP)

Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

Enhanced Energy Affordability Program (EEAP) - National Fuel Gas

National Fuel Gas

Who it is for: Income-qualified households; one program only, either EAP or EEAP.

When: no window or deadline stated for Enhanced Energy Affordability Program (EEAP)

  • Fax 716-857-7061
  • By mail: ATTN: Special Assistance, National Fuel, 6363 Main St., Williamsville, NY 14221
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

Enhanced Energy Affordability Program (EEAP) - Niagara Mohawk (National Grid)

Niagara Mohawk (National Grid)

Who it is for: Income below the EEAP maximum for household size and location; households without a qualifying public assistance benefit.

When: no window or deadline stated for Energy Affordability Program (EAP)

Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

Enhanced Energy Affordability Program (EEAP) - RG&E

RG&E

Who it is for: Income-qualified households; one program only, either EAP or EEAP.

When: no window or deadline stated for Enhanced Energy Affordability Program (EEAP)

Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

PSEG Long Island Household Assistance Program

PSEG Long Island / LIPA

Who it is for: Customers who receive benefits from certain non-utility financial assistance programs.

When: current customers renew for 18 months and then must reapply; no opening or closing date stated

Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Home repairs and insulation

weatherization

Residential Energy Affordability Partnership (REAP) (Long Island Power Authority)

Long Island Power Authority

Who it is for: Meet the 2026 Income Guidelines (80% Area Median Income as posted on page); renters and homeowners may participate; no REAP survey in past 5 years.

Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Back to the state list ↑

North Carolina (1)

Help paying a bill

hardship fund

EnergyShare (Dominion North Carolina Power)

Dominion North Carolina Power

Who it is for: No income test stated: program is last-resort help for people having trouble paying a heating bill.

When: You can apply from October 1 through May 31 .

  • In person or local agency: Local agencies look at applications and decide who is eligible
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Back to the state list ↑

North Dakota (1)

Help paying a bill

hardship fund

Online applications (Dakota Valley Electric Cooperative)

Dakota Valley Electric Cooperative

Who it is for: Individual or family applicant; a sponsoring organization must sponsor the application or it is returned.

  • Call 800-342-4671
  • By mail: Dakota Valley Electric Operation Round Up, Inc., 7296 Highway 281 / Edgeley, ND 58433 (printed on the application).
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Back to the state list ↑

Ohio (5)

Help paying a bill

hardship fund

CO-OP (The Illuminating Company customers)

The Salvation Army (Northeast Ohio Division)

Who it is for: Income up to 200% of the Federal Poverty level; a shut-off notice or disconnection is required; payment history may be considered.

When: This program is open throughout the year; however, customers may not receive assistance more than once during a 12-month period.

Funding: open

  • Call 216-861-8185
  • In person or local agency: Contact The Salvation Army nearest to where you reside for a utility appointment (Divisional Social Services Office number on the page)
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

hardship fund

Columbia Gas of Ohio HeatShare

Columbia Gas / Salvation Army

  • In person or local agency: Administered by the Salvation Army; the page links 'Find a Salvation Army' to locate a local office
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

hardship fund

Project REACH (Ohio Edison)

The Salvation Army (Northeast Ohio Division)

Who it is for: Income up to 200% of the Federal Poverty level; a shut-off notice or disconnection is required; payment history may be considered.

When: This program is open throughout the year; however, customers may not receive assistance more than once during a 12-month period.

Funding: open

  • Call 216-861-8185
  • In person or local agency: Contact The Salvation Army nearest to where you reside for a utility appointment (Divisional Social Services Office number on the page)
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Lower rate

utility discount rate

Winter Reconnect Program (Columbia Gas)

Columbia Gas

Who it is for: Any residential customer can pay at least $175 to reconnect or maintain service, then set up a payment plan for the rest of the balance (page calls it the Special Reconnect Order).

When: Opens 2026-10-12 · closes 2027-04-16

Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Past-due balance

Back to the state list ↑

Oregon (4)

Help paying a bill

hardship fund

Oregon Energy Assistance Program (OEAP)

Oregon Housing and Community Services (OHCS)

Who it is for: Low-income electric bill customers of Pacific Power and Portland General Electric; OHCS income limits not stated on this page.

  • Call 800-453-5511
  • In person or local agency: Community action agencies; find your provider via the 'Find a provider in your area' link on the page
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Lower rate

utility discount rate

Low-Income Discount - Pacific Power

Pacific Power

Who it is for: Enrollment is available to income-qualified residential customers in Oregon.

When: Re-enrollment will be required every two years.

  • Apply online ↗
  • Call 888-221-7070
  • By mail: LID Program Manager, Pacific Power, 825 NE Multnomah, Suite 2000, Portland, OR 97232 (address on the linked LID print form)
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Home repairs and insulation

weatherization

Energy Efficiency Upgrades (Idaho Power)

Idaho Power

Who it is for: Household income must fall within current federal poverty guidelines listed in above Income Qualifications.

  • In person or local agency: Contact the local Community Action Partnership (CAP) agency in your region; the page lists CAP agencies and phone numbers by county
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

weatherization

Portland General Electric low-income energy efficiency

Portland General Electric

Who it is for: Low-income households; renters need the landlord's agreement.

  • Call 503-650-3338
  • In person or local agency: Contact the Community Action agency for your county (list on page)
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Back to the state list ↑

Pennsylvania (27)

Help paying a bill

hardship fund

Customer Assistance Referral & Evaluation Program (CARES) - PPL Electric

PPL Electric

Who it is for: Support for temporary hardship, such as injury or illness, that affects their ability to make regular payments toward their electric bill.

Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Lower rate

utility discount rate

UGI CAP - UGI Electric

UGI Electric

Who it is for: Income-based; the CAP page lists income guidelines by household size (not restated here).

  • Apply online ↗
  • By mail: Request a CAP paper application by mail; send completed application to the Community Based Organization for the ZIP code
  • In person or local agency: Community Based Organization for your ZIP code; drop-off allowed
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

UGI CAP - UGI Gas

UGI Gas

Who it is for: Income-based; the CAP page lists income guidelines by household size (not restated here).

  • Apply online ↗
  • By mail: Request a CAP paper application by mail; send to the Community Based Organization for the ZIP code
  • In person or local agency: Community Based Organization for your ZIP code; drop-off allowed
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Home repairs and insulation

Past-due balance

arrearage management

Operation SHARE Energy Fund (UGI)

UGI

Who it is for: Residential UGI gas or electric customer; gross household income at or below 250% of Federal Poverty Income Guidelines (page figure).

  • Apply online ↗
  • By mail: Send the completed application to the Community Based Organization for your ZIP code
  • In person or local agency: Community Based Organization for your ZIP code
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Back to the state list ↑

South Carolina (1)

Help paying a bill

hardship fund

Energy Share (Dominion Energy)

Dominion Energy

Who it is for: Income at or below 200% of the federal poverty level; open to families, seniors, veterans and people with disabilities.

When: The program covers electric or gas bills at any time of the year.

  • In person or local agency: Contact your local EnergyShare partner agency; the agency reviews the application
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Back to the state list ↑

Texas (6)

Help paying a bill

hardship fund

Entergy Texas assistance

Entergy Texas

Who it is for: Texas customers aged 60 or older, or with disabilities, who meet 150% to 200% of the federal poverty level.

  • Apply online ↗
  • In person or local agency: The Power to Care: contact the local nonprofit agency partner for your county, listed with phone numbers on the Entergy Texas agencies page.
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

hardship fund

Residential Energy Assistance Partnership (REAP) (CPS Energy (San Antonio))

CPS Energy (San Antonio)

Who it is for: Those in need (page); CPS customers in the partnership area.

When: REAP provides energy bill assistance twice a year to those in need.

  • Call 210-353-4357
  • In person or local agency: Learn more about applying for assistance from REAP (link)
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Lower rate

utility discount rate

Affordability Discount (CPS Energy (San Antonio))

CPS Energy (San Antonio)

Who it is for: Household income at or below 150% of federal poverty guidelines, plus one factor (60 or older, documented disability, life-sustaining medical equipment, or school-aged/pre-school children, per the page).

  • Call 210-353-2222
  • In person or local agency: Bring supporting documents to a CPS Energy Customer Service Center
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

utility discount rate

Veterens Discount (CPS Energy (San Antonio))

CPS Energy (San Antonio)

Who it is for: Military veteran with severe burns from armed conflict or combat that reduce the ability to regulate core body temperature.

  • Apply online ↗
  • Call 210-353-2222
  • Fax 210-353-3666
  • In person or local agency: Bring supporting documentation to a CPS Energy Customer Service Center to apply in person.
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Home repairs and insulation

Back to the state list ↑

Virginia (3)

Help paying a bill

hardship fund

EnergyShare (Dominion Virginia Power)

Dominion Virginia Power

Who it is for: Last-resort energy assistance; local agencies decide eligibility (page lists 'You may be eligible if you' criteria not captured in text).

When: Help is available year-round, regardless of income.

  • Call 888-366-8280
  • In person or local agency: local EnergyShare agency; find it by the agency list or at 211virginia.org
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

hardship fund

HeatShare Program (Virginia Utility Assistance Program)

Dollar Energy Fund

Who it is for: Total gross household income for Columbia Gas of Virginia customers must be at or below 175% of the Federal Poverty Income Guidelines.

When: Opens 2026-10-01 · closes 2027-02-28

Funding: open

  • Apply online ↗
  • Call 888-282-6816
  • In person or local agency: Find an agency in your area with Dollar Energy Fund's Agency Finder (hardshiptools.org/AgencyFinder.aspx, linked from the program page)
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

hardship fund

Sharing the Warmth (Atmos Energy)

Atmos Energy

Who it is for: Eligible residential customers; Sharing the Warmth eligibility determined by the local agency.

When: first-come, first-served basis

  • In person or local agency: local energy assistance agency; Virginia customers apply through the Virginia Department of Social Services (page's Virginia section)
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Back to the state list ↑

Washington (9)

Help paying a bill

hardship fund

Emergency Low Income Assistance (Seattle City Light)

Seattle City Light

Who it is for: At risk of shutoff or behind on electric bills; income limits apply.

  • By mail: Paper applications by mail on request (see page)
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

hardship fund

Winter Help (Cascade Natural Gas)

Cascade Natural Gas

Who it is for: Winter Help: Grants between $50 - $200 for households with income up to 200 percent of the Federal Poverty Level.

  • In person or local agency: Local community action agencies (Cascade's partners); dial 2-1-1 for agency contacts (UTC page)
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Lower rate

utility discount rate

Pacific Power Low-income Bill Assistance (LIBA) (WA)

Pacific Power

Who it is for: Provides a bill discount to income-eligible households year-round.

  • In person or local agency: Administered through the LIHEAP agencies (UTC page); the page links 'Find a LIHEAP agency near you'
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Home repairs and insulation

weatherization

Pacific Power low-income energy efficiency

Pacific Power

Who it is for: Income-qualified homeowners and renters living in single-family homes, mobile homes and apartments.

  • In person or local agency: Please call the community agency in your area to learn more and to apply
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

weatherization

Washington Low-income Energy Efficiency (WALIEE)

NW Natural

Who it is for: Free weatherization if household income is less than 200% of the federal poverty level (per the page).

  • In person or local agency: Contact the county agency listed for your county: Clark (Clark Public Utilities, 360-397-2375 ext. 4068); Klickitat/Skamania (Washington Gorge Action Programs, 509-493-2662 ext. 202)
Official page · checked October 31, 2026 ↗

Back to the state list ↑

Wisconsin (2)

Help paying a bill

Home repairs and insulation

Back to the state list ↑